West Indies Beat Sri Lanka & Win T20 Cricket Finals

The West Indies are the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 champions. They defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the final at the Premadasa Stadium in Sri Lanka.

The West Indies first posted a competitive 137 off their maximum 20 overs, with man-of-the-match Marlon Samuels leading the way with a breathtaking 78.

Sri Lanka were then bowled out for 101 all off 18.4 overs.

Captain Darren Sammy, 26 not out, and Dwayne Bravo, 19, best supported Samuels, while mystery off-spinner Sunil Narine three for nine off 3.4 overs led the bowling efforts.

Sammy with two for six was the next best.

The West Indies were winning a major world title for the first time since their ICC Champions Trophy success in England in 2004.

Source: Go-Jamaica

Start the discussion ...